The Homan-Gerard House is a unique example of transitional Federal and Greek Revival architecture and the preservation of this early Long Island home is an integral part of the history and culture of Yaphank. The Homan-Gerard House and Mill Complex were first noted in Brookhaven Town Records in 1762 when the sawmill was built there on the river adjacent to the house. The house was rebuilt in the Federal style in 1790 and ownership was transferred over the years to the Homan, Hawkins and Gerard Families. The house is being interpreted as the mill owner’s home as it was in 1825. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.